Can't get on server, but only from home

Gate of Storms (GoS) is a metaserver (lobby) for Myth II Soulblighter multiplayer where you can play online with friends and strangers alike for free.
gatarush
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Jun 2013, 06:58
Contact:

Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby gatarush » 25 Nov 2014, 02:48

I can log on to GoS from work, but not from home. No idea why, or how to go about troubleshooting. I opened port 3453 on my home network, but that doesn't work. The error message is that GateofStorms may be down, etc, and check connection. Ideas?

Pyro
Posts: 121
Joined: 14 Nov 2012, 21:24
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby Pyro » 25 Nov 2014, 03:55

Are you able to log onto the GoS forums from your home network? Just to rule out the basics do the following. Load up Myth2. Try logging to GoS from your home network. After it fails, close Myth. Go to your Myth II folder and locate the "myth_log" text file. Copy/paste its contents into your next post to see if anything obvious is wrong.

punkUser
Posts: 1385
Joined: 16 Nov 2012, 23:13
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby punkUser » 25 Nov 2014, 05:31

Do you run firewall software at home (on your computer or router)? 3453 is not the port that the metaserver uses (don't recall it offhand), but it's an outgoing connection so you don't need to forward ports or similar. Have you tried it on multiple PCs?

gatarush
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Jun 2013, 06:58
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby gatarush » 26 Nov 2014, 00:37

Hey guys, thanks for the prompt responses.

The log text doesn't reveal too much...just couldn't connect. Haven't tried any other computer on this network, but this computer can definitely connect on other networks (work, other houses, etc.) to the metaserver. I don't do anything special with the firewall, I believe settings are on lowest security. Must be something with my router/firewall but I haven't a clue what it might be, as it's pretty new and no one did anything out of the ordinary with it.

Here's the log text:
DEBUG: Updating monolithic tag cache:
Initial count: 98
Number removed: 0
Number added: 0
New count: 98
INFO: ignoring non-required patch file 'Patch 1.4 Interface'
INFO: ignoring non-required patch file 'Patch MariusNet'
DEBUG: Adding 14 monolithic tags:
small install
medium install
large install
international small install
international large install
Patch 1.2
Patch 1.3
Patch 1.4
Patch 1.5
GateofStormsNet
Patch 1.8 Interface
Patch Templates
Magma - Detail Texture Megapack
DarthRevan Bungie Textures
Scanning for software devices...
Found 1 to use
Scanning for Direct3D devices...
Found 1 to use
Scanning for DirectX 11 devices...
Found adapter: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Found 1 to use
Scanning for 3Dfx devices...
Found 0 to use
Scanning for OpenGL devices...
Found 1 to use
Intel(R) HD Graphics | Intel | OpenGL 2.1
Initializing sound with DirectSound...
Initialized for DirectSound3D using COM
DirectSound initialized successfully.
Warning: Unable to find cutscene 'prologue'.
Establishing connection with metaserver at metaserver.gateofstorms.net:6321...
Could not connect!
Disconnecting from metaserver.
Closing Myth.

Btw, I'm running 1.8.0 build 427.

gatarush
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Jun 2013, 06:58
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby gatarush » 26 Nov 2014, 00:50

firewall_info.JPG
Also, here's an image of my current security settings for the firewall, any ideas of what I might need to change?

Pyro
Posts: 121
Joined: 14 Nov 2012, 21:24
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby Pyro » 26 Nov 2014, 03:09

Do you see any options that deal with outbound traffic? Your router must be blocking any unauthorized outgoing connections.

punkUser
Posts: 1385
Joined: 16 Nov 2012, 23:13
Contact:

Re: Can't get on server, but only from home

Postby punkUser » 26 Nov 2014, 17:53

Pyro wrote:Do you see any options that deal with outbound traffic? Your router must be blocking any unauthorized outgoing connections.

In theory that should be the "LAN-to-WAN" settings in terms of the firewall (which say allow all), but as your computer is able to connect on other networks it is likely something going on with the router and/or ISP. What sort of internet connection and router do you have?


Return to “Gate of Storms”